Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Senate Temp. Comittee Members a Good Sign

The members of the Temporary Committee, charged with making recommendations about reforming the rules, were announced yesterday. As we had hoped, it includes Senators Liz Krueger and Daniel Squadron, two vocal proponents of rules reform. (We've already applauded to Co-Chairs.) It also includes a number of avowed reformers on both sides of the aisle, including Senator George Winner, now of the minority, who gave a passionate speech in the chamber debating the current rules changes this past Monday.

The complete committee membership:
  • Co-Chair: Sen. David J. Valesky (D-Oneida)
  • Co-Chair: Sen. John Bonacic (R-Mt. Hope)
  • Sen. Liz Krueger (D-Manhattan)
  • Sen.Jeff Klein (D-Bronx)
  • Sen. Jose M. Serrano (D-Bronx/Manhattan)
  • Sen. Andrea Stewart-Cousins (D-Yonkers)
  • Sen. Daniel Squadron (D-Brooklyn/Manhattan)
  • Sen. George Winner (R-Elmira)
  • Sen. Joseph Griffo (R-Rome)

No comments: